Compare Texas Car Insurance Quotes Side-by-Side

Texas Car Insurance Quotes

Our local, independent insurance agency represents 20+ Top Rated  Texas car insurance companies. Click below to get started!

OUR MISSION:

Make shopping for car insurance quick & easy

Understanding Texas Car Insurance

When moving to a new state, you should be well-aware of the insurance requirements of it so you can start your research and find yourself the perfect match. Texas car insurance laws are simple and straightforward. This article attempts to breakdown the Texas car insurance requirements and the options available to so you get the best deal.

As per studies, Texans pay more for car insurance than the national average. Since car insurance is mandated by law if you’re driving, it is important that you know minimum requirements. This way, you will be able to reduce the cost of your premium and understand what factors are included in helping with it.

  • The average American pays $941.65 for auto insurance, whereas the average Texan pays $1,044, which happens to be 11% higher than the national average. Since Texan drivers have to have liability coverage, if bodily injury is sustained or another vehicle is damaged due to collision with your own, then you will be able to cover it.
  • Bodily injury liability amounting to $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • You are also liable to have coverage for property damage amounting to $25,000.
Coverage Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability 30,000 / 60,000
Property Damage Liability 25,000

Understanding Texas Car Insurance

When moving to a new state, you should be well-aware of the insurance requirements of it so you can start your research and find yourself the perfect match. Texas car insurance laws are simple and straightforward. This article attempts to breakdown the Texas car insurance requirements and the options available to so you get the best deal.

As per studies, Texans pay more for car insurance than the national average. Since car insurance is mandated by law if you’re driving, it is important that you know minimum requirements. This way, you will be able to reduce the cost of your premium and understand what factors are included in helping with it.

  • The average American pays $941.65 for auto insurance, whereas the average Texan pays $1,044, which happens to be 11% higher than the national average. Since Texan drivers have to have liability coverage, if bodily injury is sustained or another vehicle is damaged due to collision with your own, then you will be able to cover it.
  • Bodily injury liability amounting to $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • You are also liable to have coverage for property damage amounting to $25,000.
 

There are other types of coverage that you can get but are not included in the minimum requirements. If you accommodate them in the insurance policy you purchase, it will protect you if the accident you’re involved in is due to an uninsured driver or one whose insurance will not be able to pay for the damage, be it property or body-wise.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a good option to add to your coverage. If you sustain injuries, this will take care of your hospital bills. MedPay is another one that serves the same purpose. The great thing about both these add-ons is that you will be covered regardless of the fact that you were the one behind the wheel or not. If you a pedestrian or riding a bike, both have got you covered.

If you’re wondering what the difference between both is, PIP happens to be more extensive than MedPay. Your immediate relatives and any other person that you have added to your policy are taken care of. In addition, any rehabilitation such as physical or psychiatric care is compensated for. What’s more, if the accident causes a loss in your work wages, they will also be provided for. MedPay, however, only covers the medical bill of the insured individual and the direct surgical care required post-accident.

Texas Car Insurance Cost & Discounts

Texas car insurance rates are dependent on a number of factors. If you’re looking to get cheap car insurance in Texas, you can get a discount if you have multiple cars, a driving history that is claim-free and pristine and extra security in your vehicle. In fact, many insurance providers provide you a discount if your annual mileage is under a certain limit. The key is to look at the fine print and read through all the different features available so you can find the best fit and lower your costs.

There are many other ways to save on car insurance, but it depends on what insurance provider you are going for. Having a higher deductible can also lower the cost of your premium and is one of the most convenient ways of lowering your auto insurance spend. Although we encourage most people to include collision and comprehensive coverage in their insurance policy, they can drop it if the car is old.

The insurance provider is likely to consider you a low-risk driver if you ensure that your credit score is good enough. For this, you will have to be regular in paying your bills and rectify any errors that you may see in your credit card history. Driving less is another factor that is not commonly taken into account, but you’ll be surprised how it shapes the insurance company’s opinion of you. If you can, then carpool to work and don’t drive unnecessarily to places that you can walk. It will save you the fuel cost and you will be viewed as an individual who is less likely to have an accident because you drive less. A perfect way to push down your premium!

If you are trying to buy other types of insurance as well, we recommend that you bundle them together and get a good deal for yourself. A multi-policy discount is unparalleled and can give you a price break like nothing else.

Texas Car Insurance Quotes

Texas is huge, which explains why the insurance providers in the state are plenty. If you want to get multiple quotes, it’s no rocket science. In the last years, car insurance rates have gone up, and the reason they happen to be more expensive in Texas is because of a number of reasons. To begin with, the commute is long in the state because workplaces are often located at a distance, and the average commute is 26 minutes. Also, the amount of people who drive to work instead of using public transport is 72% in Houston alone. Secondly, the urban population is exponentially higher than the rest of the rates and happens to pay more for car insurance than their rural counterparts.

Penalties for Driving without a Car Insurance

As per Texas car insurance laws, it is illegal to drive without insurance. Not only should you have it on at all times, but it should also be valid. If you get caught without it the first time, the penalty will not be strict. By law, first-time offenders will be fined anywhere from $175 to $350. In addition, there will also be a surcharge added to your annual driver’s license fee for the coming three years.

If you are involved in repeated violations of the law, the penalties will get stricter. Another risk that you have by not having valid car insurance on you is that your driving privileges will be revoked. However, the most dangerous and risky part of not being able to secure car insurance is the damage that is caused if you get an accident.

Now that you have an overview of Texas Car Insurance Laws, you are better equipped to find coverage that works for you and find an affordable option for yourself whatever your circumstances are.

online car insurance quotes

Compare Rates From 20+ Companies

5/5

Contact Us

Email: hello@insswitch.com
Phone: (800) 760-4989

Follow Us on Social Media

Rates From 12+ Companies!

Prefer To Speak Live?

Call (800) 760-4989